Life of Amy

CogSci, Knitting, and Other Shenanigans

Mixtapes May 31, 2008

Filed under: music — Amy @ 12:38 am
Tags:

My formative years were spent with cassettes, but by the time I reached adolescence, CDs were firmly established. That said, I missed out on the true art of the mixtape. I like to make sure my mixes flow, but I never learned the art of smoothly mixing on my home tape deck. Most of my mixing experience has been gained at my computer, with headphones and CDs. However, I love making mixes, and I think that the art carries something special that sets music lovers apart. We really listen. We try not to just hum along. We’re constantly on the look out for music that truly expresses what we hope to say. Perhaps, then, this search is the true (he)art of the mix.

Links galore!
Art of the Mix (My Mixes)
Mourning the Mix Tape: Digital Age Doomed a Musical Rite of Passage
Mourning the Mix Tape: Readers’ Tales of Life-Changing Mix Tapes
The Tape Hasn’t Run Out on Cassette Mixes Just Yet
Mix Tape Song Hall of Fame
A Cassette Valediction: Part 1 of 2
A Cassette Valediction: Part 2 of 2

 

One Response to “Mixtapes”

  1. doowad Says:

    Nice to see you again, bummer about art of the mix, though. Nice post here.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.