Life of Amy

CogSci, Knitting, and Other Shenanigans

That Theatre Thing March 8, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy @ 12:09 am

I kept on forgetting what I was doing today. Then I remembered, we say the John Cleese one-man show, which he said is not normally one man, Seven Ways to Skin an Ocelot. No ocelots were harmed in the process, but instead, it was a recounting of “John Cleese: his life, time, and medical problems” … or something along those lines. There were some odd pictures (his colon!!! then sliced open with an abcess. may I just say, ‘ew.’) There were also some good montages from Monty Python, Fawlty Towers, and some other fun stuff. It’s hard to remember, I just think of how much I laughed. Entirely worth the $25 we paid. The most memorable thought was that the world full of insanity, puncuated by small bits of sanity; when we’re younger we think the opposite, he said, but I can see that. My life is insane, and the sane moments are a respite.

Apparently, beware politicians who are shorter than 5’8″. See: Benito Mussolini, Adolf Hitler, Pol Pot, Joseph Stalin, Dick Cheney, Ghengis Khan, Napoleon Bonaparte. ::grins::

It was just a great show, followed by a fun Q&A afterwards. John Cleese is a great performer, and I am happy to have seen him live. Now I need to get my hands on Fawlty Towers. And A Fish Called Wanda. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

