Life of Amy

CogSci, Knitting, and Other Shenanigans

The Interview July 23, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amy @ 11:05 pm

I asked for it and I got it … so to speak.

Here’s how this works:
01. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
02. I will respond by asking you five questions of a very intimate and creepily personal nature. Or not so creepy/personal.
03. You WILL update your LJ with the answers to the questions.
04. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the post.
05. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

1) What disappoints you most?
At the risk of sounding cliche, I am a strong believer that I am my own worst enemy. I often have those days when I am disappointed with my indecision, my performance, or where I am. I am disappointed when I feel I don’t deserve something, especially God, my parents, or my friends. I suppose that makes me introspective to the point of self-destruction, yet I find that failure to think on my part often leads to disappointing situations. I’ve gotten better at pulling myself together over the years, yet still, I tend to see my own failure, not my achievements. I always compare myself to others and think they’re better than I am. That in itself is disappointing, but I suppose I’ll just have to work on it.

2) What have you learned about your faith this year?
My faith is challenging, and it is constantly changing. I thought about that once — change is constant. My faith changes as it changes me. I have learned that my faith is deep … it’s something that I have some back to after years of wishy-washy crap. My faith has had many different faces. This year, my faith has shown me that I need to search, inside and out. Finding a church in San Diego, for instance, is going to be a challenge, but I think I have found one that will help me grow — because I can never grow enough — wider, deeper, taller. At the same time, I have discovered that my faith has opened a lot of doors and windows for me. It has given me the opportunity to meet people, witness to them, just love them. I have learned because my faith has taught.

3) Why do you bake?
I bake because I love it. It helps me to relieve stress. Come on, what’s more fun? Baking brownies from scratch or writing an MMW paper? (On a side note: I am so done with MMW!) At the same time, I know it’s something I do well. Oddly enough, if you put my by a stove, rather than an oven, the effect is just not the same. I’m a better baker. I truly enjoy making things for people. I love the expression on people’s faces after having a really great brownie. I love surprising people with cookies and cakes. Most people love sweets. And I love to make them.

4) What do you do with your negative emotions?
Hmm … I find that I cry them out, more often than not. I am a really fantastic cryer. Well, maybe not. I yell, I scream, I cry. All around, I’m incredibly loud, usually vocal, and if not, my body language is loud enough. I am trying to just let the negative emotions go, but I have a tendency to let things build up and get on my nerves, and then I snap in a frenzy. Oh … wow … I sound like a madwoman.

5) Best childhood memory?
I think my fondest memories involve going to my mother’s parents’ house. They spoiled my little sister Kimi and I rotten. My grandma gave us bottles when our mom was trying to get us off of them. We went out to the laundromat every Thursday, and we got Fig Newtons and big dinosaur cookies. In fact, I’m sitting in the downstairs bedroom of their house right now, with the knowledge that I have to learn to take the bus to work tomorrow. My grandpa drew me a nice map and everything! See … that’s what I mean by spoil me. He even offered to ride the bus with me tomorrow. My grandparents used to take us to where the Tom Family Association’s Ladies’ Auxiliary (and no, I’m not sure what it means), and we used to get out cheeks pinched. The mah-jong playing ladies used to ask me what my name was and how old I was, and I used to be able to answer them in Cantonese. I’m kind of sad that I just can’t do that anymore.

Thank you to the lovely for these questions. I hope you ask for an interview … you never know what you might get!

 

Leave a Reply

