Life of Amy

CogSci, Knitting, and Other Shenanigans

Firefox Extensions July 5, 2008

Filed under: college,life,love,random,recommendations — Amy @ 1:06 am
Tags: ,

I’ve been playing around with the new Firefox 3.0 since its release date, and I have to say I’m pretty impressed. The configuration is pretty easy to tweak, although I don’t normally do much to it. Perhaps moreso, I’m impressed with the extensions I’ve picked out this time. They just seem more useful. That said, I thought I’d share them. Extensions are, after all, the ultimate way to customize your browsing experience. The PCs at the lab just feel a little naked without …

  • All-in-One Sidebar: Oh my, why did I not discover this add-on until FF3?! This is the most amazing thing ever. It makes the sidebar an integral part of the browsing experience. It has bookmarks, downloads, add-ons, source, and whatever else you may choose to load in the sidebar. My only wish is that I could drag more shortcuts into the sidebar menu of buttons.
  • FoxyTunes: An absolutely essential tool if you listen to music while browsing. Unless you’re the kind of person who needs to see their entire library at once. But really, I think that’s just silly. All you really need to know is what song you’re listening to right now. It’s expandable if necessary, but otherwise, you can just stick to your main functions. I’ve had this extension for a while now, and I can’t live without it.
  • Sage-Too: I used an old incarnation of this RSS reader once upon a time. Then, when I updated to FF3, I found this one, and I have to say I love it. The best thing about it is that it displays all the entries on a single, generated page, allowing the reader to browse through all of the recent entries.
  • ScribeFire Blog Editor: This is what I’m using right now. It’s got compatibility with multiple blogging platforms, and the options are impressive. Additionally, it pops up in the bottom of the browser window, so you can still browse/see URLs, and even though it’s kinda tiny, it’s still there. Pretty sweet so far …
  • Shareaholic: An amazing extension … makes Digg-ing and adding to my del.icio.us bookmarks easy and painless. Can also be expanded to more networking sites than I know what to do with. My favorite part is that it tells you how many times an item has been dugg or how many other del.icio.us bookmarks have been made. It’s another great way to integrate many things that would otherwise be separate.

There you have it. I know that may not have been the most coherent review, but in my experience, these have been the most exceptional add-ons. Other notable mentions include: Adblock Plus, Download Statusbar, DownThemAll!, and PDF Download.

Oh … and a friend got engaged tonight! Hurrah! But seriously … another one?! More on this later, I suppose. Well, the general theme, anyway. Love in a time of graduation …

 

2 Responses to “Firefox Extensions”

  1. peter Says:

    You should also have a look at the extension at watchmelater.com. It lets you tag online videos so you can watch them later. It also allows you to watch them fullscreen and save bookmarks in long YouTube videos.

  2. Jay Meattle Says:

    amy, thanks for using (and recommending) shareaholic!


Leave a Reply

