Life of Amy

CogSci, Knitting, and Other Shenanigans

Conceptualizing July 9, 2008

Filed under: design,life,rant — Amy @ 2:49 am
Tags: , , ,

I am panicking about my future. This isn’t the first instance, nor, I’m certain, will it be the last. However, this was the first time I think I had a truly good idea of what I want eventually. I want to be an interaction designer. There. I’ve said it. I can’t take it back.

The biggest problem for me at the moment is deciding between graduate school and an entry-level job/internship. I actually rather love to work, but I’m concerned that I’m not ready for the work force. Perhaps I’m second-guessing myself, but I’m also worried that I won’t want to go back to school after working. Simultaneously, I’m worried about entry level jobs. I can’t find any that I want. I guess beggars can’t be choosers. But I don’t want to live in Middle-of-Nowhere, USA.

However, if there’s a bright spot to all this, I found a neat little quote that sums up how I want to be/what I want to possess:

The precision of an artist and the passion of a scientist.

How’s that for a thought?

 

2 Responses to “Conceptualizing”

  1. unclegluon Says:

    I too am a twenty-something trying to tie down a career. I’ve been through my world traveling phase and now over these last months I’ve been turning my mind to what I’ll be doing with the rest of my life.
    I’m currently in the overeducated underemployable bracket, but I’ve just recently figured out what’s next.

    This is just to say, you’re hardly alone in worrying a great deal about the future.

  2. alphainspire Says:

    I went straight out of UCSD CogSci into the field of interaction design and I personally don’t regret it a bit. It was a huge shock at first because I was not prepared, but I was lucky to have mentors that helped me along the way.

    Your right in a sense that you may be ill prepared for the actual real work out there. Could graduate skill give you a better academic base? Of course.

    But nothing mirrors real world work experience in the field you want to be in. I was lucky when I got out in 2003 as the job market was pretty good. Now with the economy it’s not so much. But good luck on whatever you decide to do.


Leave a Reply

